- Square Enix
  - Nintendo
  - Konami
  - Falcom
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Mistwalker
  - Cave
  - Basiscape
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

  - Vocalists
  - The Black Mages
  - The Star Onions

Home Contact Us Top


Guilty Gear XX Λ Core - Secret Gig :: Review by Don

Guilty Gear XX Λ Core - Secret Gig Album Title: Guilty Gear XX Λ Core - Secret Gig
Record Label: Arc Systems Works
Catalog No.: Promotional
Release Date: 2008
Purchase: Buy at Aksys Games Store


This album was a small promotional album that can be found at the Aksys store. It features two themes from Guilty Gear XX Λ Core, composed by Daisuke Ishiwatari and arranged by Yoshihiro Kusano.


The first theme, "Launch Out," is the opening theme to Guilty Gear XX Λ Core and features the series' focus on strings and electric guitar. It's a rather short theme that doesn't really pick up until the latter half, but the guitar solo that follows redeems it a bit. While it works in context, it seems somewhat pointless to listen to in the context of a short promo album.

The other theme featured on the album is "Keep the Flag Flying," which is the theme for when Order Sol fights Ky. This theme also features some string work in addition to the electric guitar focus. The strings really help set up a nice background for the electric guitar melody. The melody itself isn't one of my favorites from the Guilty Gear series, but it does exude a lot of power and does have some catchy portions, such as the orchestral bridge before the guitar solo. The solo itself is also pretty nice!


In the end, is this album worth it? I don't really think so. The music found on it is pretty good, but you'll be able to find "Launch Out" on the Guilty Gear XX Λ Core Plus Soundtrack made available with the domestic PlayStation 2 version. As for "Keep the Flag Flying", you can always listen to it on YouTube!

Overall Score: 5/10