- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Chaosfield Special Bonus CD Vol. 1 :: Review by Don

Chaosfield Special Bonus CD Vol. 1 Album Title: Chaosfield Special Bonus CD Vol. 1
Record Label: Milestone
Catalog No.: STRV-002
Release Date: December 16, 2004
Purchase: Buy at eBay


This CD was given out as a pre-release bonus for those who ordered the soundtrack to Chaosfield. Featuring four remixes by k.h.d.n., it features new approaches to the music heard on the original soundtrack.


"not back in time - 9090909 remix," arranged by Kou Hayashi, features some new intense beats and a heavier focus on the vocoder, which seems to be saying 'chaos' quite a bit. It doesn't deviate much from the original, but I do enjoy the larger focus on vocoder. It ends with a nice driving beat that seamlessly turns into "spinout - non stop mix," also arranged by Kou Hayashi. This version is pretty much the same as the original until about the minute mark where a ton of heavy industrial percussion and beats are thrown into the mix to give it a whole new atmosphere.

The album transitions into Hayashi's last arrangement, "back in to the machine." This mix opens up with an industrial base, carried over from the end of "spinout - non stop mix." The rest of the arrangement is pretty straightforward and close to the original, but continuity between this arrangement and the first arrangement is established through the addition of the vocoder saying 'chaos' over and over again.

The last arrangement is by Daisuke Nagata and is called "coccus - umbra remix." In terms of arrangement, this one clearly is the most creative of the bonus. Slick new beats combine with the more spacey sections of the original, some various vocal samples are thrown into the mix, and towards the end, it definitely takes on a darker tone. This is definitely a piece with a fresh coat of paint on it. Nagata's sense of rhythm is impeccable here and it's for this arrangement alone that this album might be worth picking up if you don't own it.


Given this was a bonus, it isn't for sale. You might be able to find a copy using Yahoo Japan Auctions if you are really interested in it. I find Nagata's entry alone with the admission price, but I do like Hayashi's sense to combine all three remixes into a single non-stop mix, even if the arrangements themselves didn't deviate much from the original.

Overall Score: 8/10