- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Fire Emblem Thracia 776 Arrange Soundtrack :: Review by Charles

Fire Emblem Thracia 776 Arrange Soundtrack Album Title: Fire Emblem Thracia 776 Arrange Soundtrack
Record Label: Teichiku Records
Catalog No.: TECD-27448
Release Date: March 23, 2000
Purchase: Buy at CDJapan


The Fire Emblem Thracia 776 Arrange Soundtrack is yet another MIDI arranged album of Fire Emblem music. Nevertheless, the arrangers have done a much better job with the sound quality than in the Fire Emblem Geneology of Holy War Arrange Soundtrack so the MIDI isn't as noticeable. In fact, this album is the very different from its predecessor. The arrangements are pretty good, but the originals they had to pick from just weren't as great. The arrangers still picked the best themes they could and churned out a pretty solid album.


MIDI or not, it's great to hear a cleaner version of the solo French horn instrument in "Together with Leaf". I personally think it sounds better this time with the solo horn than with harmonies like in the original. This is a great intro melody and it's brought out to its best. Other instruments chime in with other variations of the melody later. It has a very grand feel like your typical Fire Emblem music does and I can't say that's a bad thing. "Leaf's Riding" is a nice march in the same grandiose style. In contrast to its predecesors, "Leydrick" is a very dark arrangement. It starts out a bit generic, but soon evolves into an interesting piece. I like the use of flutes and clarinets in the second half of the track; while these type of instruments are often used in lighter Fire Emblem themes, they worked nicely here too.

Unfortunately, I'd say the whole middle section of this album is the weakest part. "Unseal the Seal" is one of the lesser tracks of this album. It's probably the most repetitive and it could do with some percussion or a bolder bass line. The next track "Knights Union" is much better in both aspects, though it still isn't particularly ear catching. "An Important Thing´┐Ż is an interesting theme too, but it takes much too long for the crescendo to come around. "Eternal Melody" is something of a slow and quiet track that isn't as powerful as several others.

The rest of the tracks on the album are fortunately much better. "Dawn of Thracia" isn't catchy but it's one of those themes with little details that grow on you. "Sometime" is an interesting take of the original ballad and strongly reminds me of a song I once heard in the movie "Spirited Away". It's very solemn compared to the original piece and I think that was a good choice. The orchestrated opening is a bit flat, but it gets a lot better when the piano chimes in. At about 2:40, the "chorus" can be heard with both the piano and orchestra and it's very powerful and emotional. It really helps set up the final track, "That Glory in Thracia", which ends with a grand yet slightly bittersweet feeling.


Not many risks were taken here, but there was definitely some great arranging nonetheless. I would have liked to see a small bit of variation still in style, but the album in general strays away from being too repetitive. The album is very solid and the sound quality isn't too bad. I'd recommend it to most fans that played the game or enjoyed the original score.

Overall Score: 7/10