- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Yoshitaka Hirota

Overview Biography Discography Game Projects Interviews

Yoshitaka Hirota Date of Birth: September 1, 1971 (Kyoto)
Education: Graduated from a Junior Music College
General Interests: Playing with Pets, Walking, The Internet
Instruments: Bass Guitar (Also a Vocalist)
Game Works: Shadow Hearts Series, DS Style Series

Employment History

Company Tenure Role
Square 1994 - 1998 Sound Effects Design
TwinTail Studio 2001 - Founder, Administrator, Composer

Brief Profile

Yoshitaka Hirota is an eclectic musician best known for the Shadow Hearts series. He entered the gaming industry as a sound effects designer for Square on recommendation of his college friend Yasunori Mitsuda. While there, he worked on many of their hit titles, including Final Fantasy VII and Chrono Trigger. He relieved tension duing these projects by DJing, releasing an electronica album, and scoring an eccentric movie in his spare time.

In 1998, he became a freelancer and scored Bomberman 64: The Second Attack and three drama albums. Following the failure of Hiroki Kikuta's Koudelka, he became the lead composer of Sacnoth and scored Faselei!, Dive Alert, and Sonic Shuffle. His big break came when he produced the diverse and experimental score to Shadow Hearts. He returned to score uniquely characterised soundtracks for its two sequels and an arranged album.

In recent years, Hirota has spent time performing at live events, creating plays, arranging for vocalists, and contributing to arranged albums. He has remained active in the game music field by leading sound production of Square Enix's DS Style series and contributing to Fist Groove 2, Donkey Kong: Jungle Climber, Hercules no Eikou: Tamashii no Shoumei, and D.Gray-man. He also recently released the dark fantasy album Kinema in the Hole featuring lyrics and vocals by Rekka Katagiri.

More Information in Detailed Biography