- Square Enix
  - Nintendo
  - Konami
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Mistwalker
  - Cave
  - Basiscape
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Tekken
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

  - Vocalists
  - The Black Mages
  - The Star Onions

Home Contact Us Top


RED ~ The Adventurous Sequence :: Review by Don

RED ~ The Adventurous Sequence Album Title: RED ~ The Adventurous Sequence
Record Label: Polydor
Catalog No.: POCH-2205
Release Date: March 25, 1993
Purchase: Buy at eBay


RED ~ The Adventurous Sequence is another obscure Tenpei Sato soundtrack produced in 1993 while he was working for the little-known Birdie Software. As I'm not sure what kind of game this is (although I assume an adventure game like others he's composed), we'll just dive right into this.


This soundtrack, although small, packs quite a few varieties of styles within it. You'll hear jazz, rock, and pop throughout the soundtrack, with a few surprises as well. In addition, this album also features spoken words in some tracks, similar to Beast III Dramatic Music Collection II. This does hamper the album a bit, but I won't complain about it any more this time.

For jazz selections, the two tracks that stand out are "Grey Time" and "Around the Clock." Both follow similar compositional styles with a light hearted percussion and piano accompaniment to a rather free flowing saxophone. They are enjoyable, but aren't too spectacular. The latter of the pieces, "Around the Clock," is one of the pieces that features spoken words, but does offer the better of the compositions albeit short.

The pop selections aren't too spectacular either, but they are a step up from the jazz selections. "Tears of Eos," which also features spoken words at the end, has a very catchy melody. The woodwinds and violin really help to make the track stand out, but the drum pad can get a bit annoying at times. It's still rather enjoyable though. "Yes, No" is another of the pop selections. The focus in this piece is still violin and woodwind, and the drum pad is still a bit obnoxious, but nonetheless the melody is quite pleasing. I'd have to go with "Yes, No" for the composition that engrosses me more.

Of course, early Sato means nothing without a few rock pieces as well. "Movin' On" is probably my favorite piece on the soundtrack. I love the underlying rock harmony that matches quite nicely with the brass and string melodies. It offers something intriguing to the album as well as something pretty exhilarating. "Overdrive" is another really rock heavy track. The guitar riffs and percussion really stand out, but the synth used in the melody is much more prominent. It reminds me more of Sakuraba prog rock. Overall, it's pretty good stuff. However, it's one of those tracks ruined by the inclusion of spoken words.

One more piece I'll touch up upon is "Snowbird Fantasy." Perhaps one of my favorite slow compositions from Tenpei Sato, it features a very somber yet peaceful piano melody. Towards the end of the piece, some synth string work acts to create a bit of atmosphere and adds to the piece, but even with out it, the piano work is still enticing.


On the whole, this soundtrack is rather average. It has its moments, but for the most part, there really isn't a whole lot to offer. "Snowbird Fantasy" and "Movin' On" are definitely the stars of the show. The variety of styles is nice, but it just seems to be missing the charm other Sato albums have. Ah well, I'm sure it will please someone out there!

Overall Score: 6/10